IEEE SmartGridComms ConferenceIEEEComSoc
  HOME           ABOUT          SYMPOSIA          REGISTRATION          SUBMISSION            PROGRAM          COMMITTEE         HOTEL & TRAVEL

IEEE SmartGridComm Symposium on

Interconnections and Communications of Electric Vehicles and Smart Grids

Symposium Co-Chairs

Onur Altintas
Toyota InfoTechnology Center, Japan
Rich Scholer
Ford Motor Company, USA
Le Yi Wang
Wayne State University, USA

Scope and Motivation

Plug-in EVs and HEVs are an integral part of power grids, both as loads and as distributed power sources. Interconnectability, compatibility, and communications between electric powered vehicles and smart grids are critical topics for smart grid developments. This symposium will focus on all aspects of communications and information exchange between the electric sourced vehicles and the Smart Grid (V2G).

Topics of Particular Interest

The symposium welcomes contributions in, but not limited to, the following topics:

  1. EV and Grid Interactions
  2. Messaging and control protocols between Home Area Networks and vehicles
  3. Physical and media access protocols for connecting EVs to smart grid
  4. Applications, use cases (e.g. downloading while charging)
  5. Interoperability issues
  6. Scheduling for smart EV charging and economic models
  7. Communication aspects of bi-directional energy transfer
  8. Simulation, modeling, and testing
  9. Standardization updates
  10. Regulatory aspects of EV EMS (energy management systems) for smart grids
  11. Integrated communications and control of EV EMS for smart grid operations
  12. Security issues of EV EMS

Submission Guidelines

Submission deadlines and format requirements are the same for all symposia, see here

Papers can be submitted here

Technical Program Committee (TPC) Members

Mohammod Ali, USC, USA
Luis Almeida, Univerdidade do Porto, Portugal
Sami Ayyorgun, Telcordia, USA
Michael Bourton, Grid2Home, USA
Francisco Cañete, Universidad de Malaga, Spain
Klaus Dostert, University of Karlsruhe, Germany
Mehdi Ferdowsi, Missouri University of Science and Technology, USA
Mikio Hasegawa, Tokyo University of Science, Japan
Nihar Jindal, University of Minnesota, USA
Stanley Klein, IEEE-USA, USA
Jay Manotas, Panasonic Automotive Systems, USA
Fabienne Nouvel, INSA, France
Masato Oguchi, Ochanomizu University, Japan
Zafer Sahinoglu, Mitsubishi Electric Research Laboratories, USA
Hiroshi Shigeno, Keio University, Japan
Zhibin Tan, Wayne State University, USA
Serdar Uckun, PARC, USA
Akihisa Yokoyama, Toyota InfoTechnology Center, Japan

         home      about      committee      participate      patrons      program      nondiscrimination policy                         © 2010 IEEE Communications Society