IEEE SmartGridComms ConferenceIEEEComSoc
  HOME           ABOUT          SYMPOSIA          REGISTRATION          SUBMISSION            PROGRAM          COMMITTEE         HOTEL & TRAVEL

IEEE SmartGridComm Symposium on

Regulatory Issues and Their Impact on Communications Aspects

Symposium Co-Chairs

John Boot
GE Energy, USA
Yi Qian
University of Nebraska-Lincoln, USA
Zhifeng Tao
Mitsubishi Electric Research Lab, USA

Scope and Motivation

As a national priority in many countries around the world, smart grid spans three major areas, namely energy, information technology and communications technologies. These three areas are traditionally heavily regulated, given their strategic roles in each nation's economy. For smart grid, regulation becomes even more game-changing than ever. Modifications in regulation can unleash billion-dollar markets overnight, or stall progress for years.

Topics of Particular Interest

This symposium aims to explore the impact of regulatory issues on smart grid in general, and on communications aspects in particular. The topics of the symposium include, but not limit to, the following:

  1. FCC wireless spectrum regulation for smart grid
  2. Regulation on powerline communications
  3. Regulation on renewable energy
  4. Regulation on plug-in hybrid electric vehicles (PHEV) and electric vehicles (EV)
  5. Regulation on demand response
  6. Regulation on operational efficiency
  7. Regulation on consumer privacy
  8. Regulation on smart grid security

Submission Guidelines

Submission deadlines and format requirements are the same for all symposia, see here

Papers can be submitted here

Technical Program Committee (TPC) Members

Angelantonio Gnazzo, Telecom Italia S.p.A., Italy
Fulcieri Maltini, FM Consultants Associates, France
Romano Napolitano, ISPLC and Regulatory Issues, Italy
Ghery Pettit, Intel Corporation, USA
Ana Poida, ISPE - Institute for Studies and Power Engineering, Romania
Craig Rodine, Electric Power Research Institute (EPRI), USA

         home      about      committee      participate      patrons      program      nondiscrimination policy                         © 2010 IEEE Communications Society